Author Topic: Probability  (Read 4344 times)

kenberg

• View Profile
Probability
« on: September 24, 2017, 02:34:11 PM »
I was at Grant's lesson last week. He mentioned that I am a mathematician and maybe I could say a few words about probability. This can be tricky.  The fact is I rarely really compute the exact odds of a line of play, it would drive everyone nuts waiting.  But I will try to put something together, something fairy short and incomplete, but perhaps having some use. In this note, I will give one example and then I am open to suggestions. The example is from the robots.

http://tinyurl.com/y8uu2jd9

You might or might not like the auction, I held the South cards during the auction, I was switched for the play. Anyway, it's what I did. Now I am playing 6 !S and I have to make it. The opening lead is a club, a lead that leaves it all up to me.

If W holds !S KQ3 I am going down. No point in worrying about what cannot be dealt with. If E holds !S KQ3 I can hold my spade losses to 1 by winning the !C in hand and then playing the !S J and letting it ride if it is not covered. This would guarantee the loss of only one !S on any hand except the one where   the KQ3 are with W. That one we ignore. So maybe that's right? Hold on! We still have a heart loser to deal with.

Let's consider the alternate play of laying down the !S A.  If W shows out I will regret this play since now I am going down for sure, while I would still have a chance if I had  run the J. Otoh, if everyone follows suit when I lay down the A, then I am, with practical certainty,  making this hand.

Let's think it through: