Chew the Fat! > The IAC Café

Di stories - let's introduce ourselves :)

(1/4) > >>

hi bye:
We have our own stories. Stories about who we are, stories about love and friendship, stories about loneliness and failure. Every person has a story to tell. I have had this idea - to create stories about bridge. Welcome to Di stories!
This is the first story which represents what is bridge for me.
Hello! My name is Diliana. I started playing bridge at the age of 14. At first I had no idea what contract bridge is. But with the time, I fell in love with it. For me, bridge is a game of partnership and trust, hard work and skills, concentration and a bit of luck. Bridge takes a lot of time and practice. But you will meet people from different counties. Also, you will see your progress while playing with good players. For some people, bridge is passion. For others - competition. Bridge is this part of me which helps me grow and learn so many things. What is bridge for you? Share with us!
Di stories will try to represent the way we see things and opinion that matters.

hi bye:
Di stories welcome tourney starts this Thursday (20.02.2020) at 19:00 UTC.
There will be a short story after each tournament. Please, plan to join us!

Curls77:
WTG Di, welcome to IAC TD team  !H
I hope many members attend and share their stories with us :)

kenberg:
I'm Ken.

Growing up I played crazy eights, cribbage, poker, hearts, various forms of rummy but not bridge. I learned rubber bridge as a young adult. Back then (and that's quite a ways back) you learned bridge by reading Goren.  Opening 2 !H was a game forcing natural bid. When I later tried duplicate I doubled a bid by the opponents, Lho asked my partner if my double was negative, I had no idea what they were talking about.

I have played off and on, sometimes a lot, sometimes not at all, currently I play a modest amount although my wife Becky, a non-bridge player, might disagree with calling it  "a modest amount".